During the centuries of history the territory of Kyrgyzstan has been conquered by many different people, as Djingis Khan with his troops for example.

According to the stone inscriptions dating up to 5000-year-old and the 3000-year-old town of Osh we can conclude that the first people have been living here already thousands of years ago. The nomadic Kyrgyz are one of the oldest nations of Central Asia and they first came here about 2000 years ago. They went south, coming from the Siberian region Yenisey and formed the Kyrgyz Khanate at the beginning of the first millennium.

The Karakhanid Khanate was built in 6th century from the Turkish tribe inhabited here. It was pretty thriving state. One of the most important cities there was the town of Balasagun. Today you still can visit the Burana-tower, minaret of the Balasagun city. It takes 1 hour drive from Bishkek to get there.

In the 13th century, the empire defeats and Djingis Khan established the Mongol Khanate here. After the death of the powerful leader - emperor Mongke the Khanate was split up into many small ones, and the region of present Kyrgyzstan was part of the Chagatai Khanate.

In 19th century it was transformed into the Kokand Khanate but after a prospering period in the years 1873 - 1874 the region entered to the Russian Empire, where after the October Revolution, it became part of Soviet Union - since 1936 Kyrgyzstan is one of the Soviet Republics.

In 1991, the country became independent and since then is known as the Republic of Kyrgyzstan.